History

HISTORY

GARDINER’S WAS INCORPORATED IN 1893 HAVING BEEN TRADING FOR ALMOST 70 YEARS. THE COMPANY STARTED LIFE AS A BLACKSMITH AND IRONMONGER, MAKING METAL ITEMS FOR THE BRISTOL PUBLIC

GARDINER HASKINS
A BRIEF HISTORY
1825-2018
1825

Business started by Zacharia Cartwright

1860

Nephew, Emmanuel Chillcott and Alfred Gardiner take over and expand

1870-1900

Showrooms and offices open in Nelson Street, All Saints Street and Duck Lane

1893

Gardiner Sons and Co becomes a Ltd company

1897

The Midlands Ironworks in St Philips opens where steel for Wembley’s twin towers was made

1930

Purchased Queens Hotel on Whiteladies Road as additional showrooms

1933

Gardiner Haskins opened retail showrooms at Beacon’s House, Queens Road, Clifton (which became Taylors, then Debenhams and Habitat)

1958

Business moved to new premises, taking over the site of Christopher Thomas Soap and Candle business in Broad Plain. Converting the huge Grade II listed Victorian factory buildings, built in the 1860s

1971

JH Haskins furniture and carpets was introduced and with a fast growing retail store it was re-named Gardiner Haskins

1979

Cirencester store opens

1997

Brunel Garden Centre Opens

2015

Store celebrates it’s 190th anniversary

Late 2018

Brand new showrooms will open showcasing fitted kitchens, bathrooms, bedrooms and made to measure curtains and blinds